Loading indicator

Gouvernance (aperçu)

shutterstock 1363289006 Edited

Gouvernance

RPC Investissements est reconnu à l’échelle internationale comme un modèle à suivre pour la saine gestion d’un régime de pensions. RPC Investissements est géré indépendamment du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), exerce ses activités sans lien de dépendance avec les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux et est guidé par un conseil d’administration professionnel indépendant hautement qualifié.

Notre principal objectif consiste à aider le Régime de pensions du Canada à s’acquitter de ses obligations envers les cotisants et les bénéficiaires canadiens. À cette fin, les gouvernements canadiens ont conçu un modèle de gouvernance unique, qui permet à l’Office (RPC Investissements) de fonctionner comme un organisme de placement professionnel, dont le mandat purement commercial est lié exclusivement au placement.

Comme il est énoncé dans la Loi sur l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada, les actifs de la caisse sont gérés dans le meilleur intérêt des cotisants et des bénéficiaires du Régime de pensions du Canada. Ces actifs sont tout à fait distincts des fonds publics.

La Loi sur l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada comporte des mesures de protection contre les risques d’ingérence politique. RPC Investissements exerce ses activités sans lien de dépendance avec les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux et est guidé par un conseil d’administration professionnel indépendant hautement qualifié. Les membres de la direction de RPC Investissements ne rendent pas compte aux gouvernements, mais bien au conseil d’administration de RPC Investissements. Le conseil d’administration de RPC Investissements approuve les politiques de placement, définit avec la direction l’orientation stratégique de l’organisme et prend les principales décisions liées aux activités de RPC Investissements.

En vertu de la Loi sur l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada, le conseil d’administration et la direction sont responsables de leur rendement et doivent respecter des obligations redditionnelles très rigoureuses, dont l’obligation de rendre des comptes aux ministres des Finances fédéral et provinciaux, qui agissent comme gérants du RPC.

Pour en apprendre davantage :

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.

Loading indicator

Enter search term

Governance Overview

shutterstock 1363289006 Edited

Governance

CPP Investments is recognized internationally as a leading example of sound pension plan management. We are independent of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), operate at arm’s length from federal and provincial governments and are guided by an independent highly qualified, professional Board of Directors.

Our overarching purpose is to assist the Canada Pension Plan in meeting its obligations to Canadian contributors and beneficiaries. To enable this, Canadian governments created a unique governance model allowing Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPP Investments) to operate as a professional investment organization with a commercial, investment-only mandate.

As outlined in the CPPIB Act, the assets of the Fund are managed in the best interest of the Canadian contributors and beneficiaries who participate in the Canada Pension Plan. These assets are strictly segregated from government funds.

The CPPIB Act has safeguards against any political interference. CPP Investments operates at arm’s length from federal and provincial governments with the oversight of an independent, highly qualified professional Board of Directors.  CPP Investments’ management reports not to governments, but to the CPP Investments’ Board of Directors. The CPP Investments’ Board approves investment policies, determines with management the organization’s strategic direction and makes critical operational decisions.

The CPPIB Act holds our Board of Directors and management accountable for their performance under a rigorous public accountability regime which includes accountability to the federal and provincial Finance Ministers who serve as the stewards of the CPP.

Learn more:

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.